Kings Arcade - Unique Specialty Shops
The historic Kings Arcade, a National Trust classified building, was built in 1893 by Mr.Frederick Philips. In 1915 the arcade was acquired by Frederick King who was a fruiterer and used the original shops at the front of the arcade for his burgeoning business. In 1921 Frederick King made the arcade into a thoroughfare by providing a link from High St through to Armadale railway station, at the back of the arcade. Hence, the fitting name of Railway Arcade, was its original name.
At this time, trams did not go all the way into the city so the only public transport into the city was via Armadale station. The arcade was the link from the busy High St where the tram finished to Flinders Streets station. During this period it was one of the busiest thoroughfares in Australia.
In 1946 Gordon King, the son of Frederick, undertook major renovations of the arcade and renamed the arcade Kings Arcade. Further renovations took place in the 80's with the addition of a glass roof.
Today, the arcade is still in the King family with Philip and Robert King, the grandsons of Frederick, still operating the arcade.
Explore the history
behind one of
Use our interactive
map to find a specific
store or business
and take a virtual
tour of Kings Arcade